Standard for Emergency Vehicle Technician



Protect the public and company personnel. Be confident emergency vehicle technicians (EVTs) are qualified to meet NFPA 1071 requirements for inspection, maintenance, repair, and testing.

Originally developed at the request of the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC), the 2016 NFPA 1071: Standard for Emergency Vehicle Technician Professional Qualifications identifies and defines the minimum job performance requirements (JPRs) for Emergency Vehicle Technicians (EVTs). Requirements apply to anyone engaged in the inspection, diagnosis, maintenance, repair, and testing of emergency response vehicles.

NFPA 1071 clearly delineates requirements based on the three levels of EVT:

  • EVT I responsible for operational checks
  • EVT II responsible for performance checks
  • EVT III responsible for supervision and managerial skills

Improve preparedness -- train personnel using the 2016 NFPA 1071.

The skills and knowledge requirements contained in each level of EVT are current with the 2016 NFPA 1901: Automotive Fire Apparatus, and there's a skills maintenance requirement for each of the three levels. (Softbound, 34 pp., 2016)

To top